The actual definition of a stereotype is “a widely held but, fixed and oversimplified image or idea of a particular type of person or thing.” High school is the perfect place to find stereotypes and to watch them be created. So many people are judged everyday at school. I see it in the halls, I see it in the classrooms, and I even see it outside of school in the parking lot. The author Chimamanda Adichie said that, “The single story creates stereotypes, and the problem with stereotypes is not that they are untrue, but that they are incomplete. They make one story become the only story.” She is correct by saying that stereotypes are untrue. Stereotypes make people see only one thing about a person. It is impossible to know someone based off of one detail. For example, I have a man who lives in my neighborhood who is very mean and strict. He cares more about his lawn and flowers more than his own hygiene. For a long time, I only saw him as a mean and grumpy old man. Later in life, I found out that his wife had passed away from Lung Cancer two and a half years ago. He and his wife did everything together. His wife’s favorite thing to do was arrange the flowers in her garden and take care of them. He also told me that his wife picked out his outfit everyday, helped with his hair, and made him his meals. She was his world. After she passed, he became a stereotypical grumpy old man. It is not the type of stereotype you see in high school, but it shows just how quickly stereotypes can form.

